history-banner

History of The Forge

Chateau Forge du Roy is a beautiful, tranquil 17th century chartreuse set in a 184-acre estate in the heart of the Perigord Noir region of the Dordogne which is particularly famous for its black truffles.

According to the archives of the region, this chartreuse dates back to around 1680 and was originally built as a gentleman’s hunting lodge. Owned in 1701 by Le Marquis de Fleurac, Seigneur de Rouffignac, it became an ironmaster’s workshop around 1730 and at one time was manufacturing cannonballs for Napoleon’s army.

The lake abutting the Forge is a reservoir created to provide the ironworks with a reliable source of water. By the end of the 19th Century, La Forge had ceased to manufacture iron.

Its current owners acquired the property in 2006 and they set about restoring the estate with complete respect and sensitivity for its history and the people who live in and around the area.

They consider themselves as custodians of this magnificent property rather than owners and feel a real sense of responsibility to ensure it is preserved and appreciated for generations to come.

As a result of their hard work and dedication, The Forge is today considered to be the most important building of its kind in the whole of the Perigord region. It has been returned to its former glory with many original features, including stone and marble fire surrounds and elegant wall panelling.

It is able to accommodate up to 20 guests in both the Forge and the beautifully converted Barn, and sits in a wooded valley with extensive gardens, a swimming pool,and a lake. The Forge represents a fantastic opportunity for people around the world to visit the property and immerse themselves in everything the area has to offer.